Division 2—Core provisions for this Chapter

10 Commonwealth entities

- (1) A Commonwealth entity is:
 - (a) a Department of State; or
 - (b) a Parliamentary Department; or
 - (c) a listed entity; or
 - (d) a body corporate established by a law of the Commonwealth.

Note: Paragraph (d) does not cover bodies corporate, such as Commonwealth companies, that are established under, but not by, a law of the Commonwealth.

(2) However, the High Court and the Future Fund Board of Guardians are not *Commonwealth entities*.

11 Types of Commonwealth entities

There are 2 types of Commonwealth entities:

- (a) a *corporate Commonwealth entity*, which is a Commonwealth entity that is a body corporate; and
- (b) a *non-corporate Commonwealth entity*, which is a Commonwealth entity that is not a body corporate.

Note: Corporate Commonwealth entities are legally separate from the Commonwealth, whereas non-corporate Commonwealth entities are part of the Commonwealth.

12 Accountable authorities

- (1) Each Commonwealth entity has an accountable authority.
- (2) The following table sets out the person or body that is the *accountable authority* of a Commonwealth entity:

Accountable authorities		
Item	If the Commonwealth entity is:	then the accountable authority of the entity is:
1	a Department of State	the Secretary of the Department.